my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

I am catching up on Sophie’s Mod-Mod QAL (details at Block Lotto).  The April Blocks fit with the half square triangle theme:

imageI like to make my HSTs two-at-a-time.  The easy formula to remember is add 7/8″ to your FINISHED block size.  If you are working with 2.5″ squares, they finish at 2″, so the HST needs to start with 2-7/8″ squares.  Draw a diagonal line on the back of your fabric and sew 1/4″ from the line.  When you cut on the line, you will have 2 HST, quick and easy.

I have also noticed, as I have been working with stash for the last few weeks, I have tons of “dot” fabrics!  I gravitate towards tone on tone prints these days because I find them the most versatile in my scrappy type of quilt design.  Circles show up a lot!  So in a recent buying spree (hey, everything was 50%, what is a quilter to do?!?) I made sure to find other patterns.  Tula Pink had some great prints such as “Hummingbird” and “Arrowheads” and I even found a stripe that would look pretty with the blocks pictured above.

Comments on: "More Fun with HST blocks" (2)

  1. Very graphic. Very nice!

  2. ooh, thank you for the math tip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

