my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

A Collection of Happy

My “thing” is collecting giraffes. Of course, now that I want to blog about it, I cannot find the picture I took of half my collection!  I have some in every room…wooden, ceramic, stuffed animals, and framed prints.  I remember a a child, preteen probably, specifically choosing a giraffe as my favorite, because it was just a bit different and interesting. (Like Susan Sarandon in Bull Durham – “Cute?  Who wants to be cute?  I want to be exotic and alluring!”)

Having a collection makes gift giving easier too!  I started a collection of Santa figurines after college, but people forgot about it, so it’s not as extensive as the giraffes.We are lucky in the Phoenix area to have to fantastic zoos, each with giraffe feeding stations.  The Cheyenne Mountain Zoo in Colorado Springs even has a giraffe-cam that provides a live feed of their animals.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

