my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

Spring Break Sew-In

I needed some space to layout a few blocks, so I packed up my projects and headed to my mom’s house.  She has a fantastic studio with a big design wall.  I laid out the blocks that I won last year from Block Lotto.  The lotto guidelines were any pattern with a blue, tan and cream color scheme.  I added the red sashing. 

I think it will make a nice Quilt of Valor when it’s done.  I mention QOV quite a bit…if your family is well stocked with quilts and you need a destination for your creative efforts, please consider Quilts of Valor.  They have standing requests for quilts to comfort our wounded warriors as they arrive at various hospitals, and we fall short of meeting these needs.  PLEASE, check out the Quilts of Valor website and make a donation!

My little princess has quite a stock of art supplies at Grandma’s house, so she was set up and working on cards.

In no time at all, I had the borders on and the top is ready for the longarm.  Next on the design wall: my Fat Quarter Stars.  The patterns came from the Quilt Along at Moose on the Porch Quilts.

Then, it was time to go home.  I will add a variety of colors for sashing these blocks.  I thought about putting the blocks on point, but I don’t want to do the math for the setting triangles, LOL.  Too many other projects waiting!  The quilters who participated in the FQ Stars QAL posted photos in Flickr, so search for that group to see other spectacular color ways.  Most of my fabric came from the Stonehenge line from Northcott.

One more day to enter the Blog Hop Giveaway!  I am offering two fat quarters and some charm squares.  You must comment on this post.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

