my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

Sampler Blocks

I am taking a break from projects with deadlines to just play in the sewing room.  I had fallen behind with the Block Lotto, but Sophie keeps wonderful records of all the block instructions.  I made a few blocks for the July drawing and then went back to my plan to make duplicate blocks in patriotic colors.  By the end of the year, I should have enough for another Quilt of Valor!image

Some of the patterns did not appeal to me to put in a patriotic sampler (hearts, birds, ships) so I adapted, and pieced a random log cabin and some half-square triangles.  All the blocks are 6 1/2 by 9 1/2.

image

I have seen some layouts recently with “shadow” sashing, and that might be fun to play with.  Here is an example of a Shadow Quilt:4387430825_ed421dcaed(Photo from Flickr, by tjrcraft)

Another long term project I am mulling over is a tribute to my Air Force Academy class.  Our motto was “True Blue 92” so I am planning a quilt with 92 blue stars.  I started looking for patterns on Marcia’s terrific website Quilter’s Cache.  Plenty of ideas!  Now to just get my sewing space organized to work on several projects at once.  I love Bonnie Hunter’s idea of Leaders and Enders, but it does take some preparation to have the correct size pieces on hand.  Her challenge for the next year is to make Split 9-patch blocks, so grab your 2 1/2 inch squares and some pieces to make HSTs, and you can join the fun. (directions here) So many ideas…I’d better get stitching!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

