my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

I am a sucker for joining groups.  I am tempted by the latest and greatest -along, whether it be quilting or knitting, or as I mentioned in my last post, writing.  Give me a theme, a project and an online group to chat with and sign me up!

Last January, I found a new blog – Happy Quilting.  Melissa was hosting a QAL with a pretty block pattern that was just a bit different that anything else I had seen.  I didn’t need more fabric or a new project, but I quickly talked myself into a trip to the quilt store and came home with a selection of fat quarters.

image

The background was an out-of-the-box choice, it’s a caramel-ish tan.  As I have been piecing these blocks, I realize I have a thing for polka dots.  Hmm, I wonder what that’s about!

image

I stayed organized by sorting the pieces with paper plates.

image

I am almost finished…three more blocks then I’ll have to figure out sashing and borders, then on to the quilting.

image

I think I can get away with a pantograph on this because it is so colorful.  My plan has always been to donate this as a Quilt of Valor so I tried to use masculine prints.  I have a flag panto…we’ll see what it looks like as a completed top and I will wait for inspiration to strike.

Check out the flickr photos for this QAL!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

