my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

Quilt-a-longs

One phenomenon you will find in the online quilting community is the opportunity to sew along with others in a virtual quilting bee.  I am often tempted by these new projects (such as the Star Light Star Bright quilt here).  Last year, I found the Women of the Bible Quilt and convinced a friend to start the project and corresponding Bible Study.  (The pattern is HERE and the yahoo group is HERE)

Since my friend is a beginning quilter, and she lives in Europe, I started a different blog that has all my tutorials for the Women of the Bible quilt: True Blue Quilters.  There are 52 blocks in the quilt, and we just finished block 49 – Mary Magdelene.

Here are the most recent blocks:

image

And the first half:

image

Each block is 6″ finished. Since we are nearing the end,  I am thinking of layout options.  The original is longer and narrower that I like, so I am thinking of a 6×8 grid, with last 4 blocks in the corners.  Some quilters have put the name of each block in the sashing…I don’t have an embroidery machine, maybe I will stitch the names as I am quilting.

Do you join quilt-alongs?  I am a solitary quilter most of the time so I love hearing about projects from my online circle of quilting buddies.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

