my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

Knitting Shawls

I live in the desert where we are celebrating fall’s cooler temperatures with highs (only) in the 90’s.  So, knitting wool sweaters is not really practical.  However, all those people you see wearing tank tops and shorts end up freezing when they go inside to restaurants, churches and movie theaters.  So shawls come in very handy.

The first shawl I knit was “Color Affection” – one of those patterns that becomes instantly popular.  It was fun putting colors together.

image

I quickly realized I like a deeper crescent.  Color Affection is a bit narrow for my taste, but it travels well and came in very handy on airplanes and trains during my recent summer vacation.

Stephen West is another designer who has a vast and loyal following.  The past few years he has been running a Mystery Knit Along.  I made Rockefeller in 2012.

image

I enjoy making shawls with sock yarn (fingering weight) and I might have mentioned my compulsion for mysteries and knit-alongs…

Here is Fire and Blood, a Jimmy Beans Wool exclusive colorway and knit along inspired by Game of Thrones.

image

And waiting for a final wash and block is Evolution by Rachel Henry, a design I discovered while watching Skacel’s first season of “The Fiber Factor”, a reality-type online competition featuring knitters.

image

I think I am well stocked for those chilly air-conditioned spaces!

Comments on: "Knitting Shawls" (1)

  1. what a fab collection! I’ve been on a shawl binge myself lately…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

