my creative pursuits with quilts and knits

Fall 2014 BQF Button

I am entering my Rainbow Twister in the ROYGBIV category.

image

I made this quilt in 2012, but this is the first time I have entered the Blogger’s Quilt Festival.  This quilt was born out of a fabric swap.  Each person chose a color and we swapped 5″ squares.  I laid out the colors from light to dark, and I had enough squares to make two rows of each color, so I alternated the gradient with each row.  Once I had the squares sewn together, I grabbed my Lil’ Twister ruler and cut it apart again.  It was so fun watching the pinwheels appear!

The reward for chopping up a quilt top with the Twister ruler is the bonus squares.  I put some of the leftover scraps to use in the corners, keeping everything in proper order.

Then it was time to choose quilting designs.  I spent alot of time on Leah Day’s website for inspiration!

image image image image

And I made little rainbows in the background:

image

Here are my names for the quilting designs.  Each row had it’s own unique free motion design:

image

The quilt finished at about 33″ x 39″.  It was machine pieced, then quilted on a Gammill longarm with rainbow variegated thread.

Comments on: "Blogger’s Quilt Festival Entry" (2)

  1. Beautifully done. You did a great job laying out all the colors and getting the gradients to flow so well.

  2. Nice Twister! The different motifs are super fun and creative.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

